Insurance is an integral part of car shopping. You’ll want to know the different types of coverage available so you can choose an appropriate policy for your situation. Fortunately, car insurance is easy to understand. Detailed below are some ins and outs of car insurance in Jacksonville.
In order to be street legal in Florida, you have to have at least $10,000 of personal injury protection (known as PIP) and $10,000 of PDL which is property damage liability.
What Is PIP?
Personal Injury Protection is insurance that specifically covers you. It doesn’t matter whether you are at fault or not, with PIP, you’re covered up to the amounts stipulated in your policy. PIP also covers members of your household who don’t have vehicles. In addition, PIP will also cover you and other non-motorists in your family if you are in someone else’s car, walking, on a bus or bicycling.
What Is PDL?
PDL, the second component of mandatory insurance in Florida, will cover any property damage you or members of your household cause up to the policy limits.
What Is BDL?
BDL (Bodily Injury Liability) insurance covers serious bodily harm and death to others when you or a covered family member are at fault. Your policy will pay for the injuries and even provide you with legal representation in the event someone sues you. BDL covers you and your family, even if you are driving someone else’s car. In some cases, it might cover non-family members driving your vehicle with your permission.
What If I Don’t Have Car Insurance in Jacksonville for My Registered Vehicle?
Car insurance is mandated by law and there are penalties for failing to procure or maintain adequate car insurance. The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles can suspend your driver’s license and registration for up to three years if you don’t have vehicle insurance.