The Alabama Lemon Law is not a very generous lemon law, you only have a coverage period of 12 months or 12,000 miles. In many cases, you can put 12,000 miles on a vehicle in 6 months if you live in a rural area. The key to taking advantage of the lemon law in Alabama is to have the right legal help and to act quickly. While the lemon laws were enacted to give consumers a recourse against manufacturers most manufacturers are not exactly afraid of the repercussions of the law. For the manufacturer/dealership they can drag out the situation for a ridiculously long time if you are fighting the case on your own, if you have a lawyer that is experienced it will speed up the process significantly.
What You Should Do
The law is straight forward about:
* Consumer responsibility
But it is not very specific about:
* Repercussions for the dealership/manufacturer
The Alabama lemon law does seem to give the dealership/manufacturer plenty of room to make the repairs but it does not consider the inconvenience to the consumer. If your vehicle had to sit in a shop for 30 days out of the 12 months of the coverage period that is an entire month of use you do not get and you still must make your car note payment. What you should do when you find yourself struggling with a lemon is to call an attorney right from the start.
The Legal Advice
One of the best things you can do about your lemon is to get the legal advice that will help you to get out from under that vehicle. Krohn & Moss, Ltd. Consumer Law Center® will stand by you every step of the way throughout the process and provide you with the information you need!