When a person purchases an automobile, they have a level of expectation that they auto will operate properly. When the car is defective it can damage the safety, use, or value of the automobile the owner believes they are receiving when they buy the auto. Nevertheless, what happens when that auto fails to function correctly and becomes unsafe to be on the road? What steps should the owner take to remedy the situation and how long should they give the manufacturer to repair the car before their auto falls under the California Lemon Law? The Song-Beverly Consumer Warranty Act, is a law that was established to help protect consumers from paying for a defective product that is unrepairable.
What to Do if Your Auto Falls Under the Lemon Law
If a car owner purchases a defective auto, the manufacturer has at least 4 attempts to be able to fix the issue with the car. If the manufacturer fails to make those repairs or the auto has not been operational for 30 days or more, the car then can fall under the California Lemon Law. For anyone that falls under this law, they should contact an attorney that specializes in the lemon law. A lawyer can provide them with advice on the course of action the consumer can take such as sending a written notice to the manufacturer and file a complaint against the company if necessary.
More Than Automobiles are Covered Under the Lemon Law
The Lemon law does not only cover automobiles, consumers who have issues with computers, spas, or other home appliances can be protected by this law. Krohn & Moss, Ltd. Consumer Law Center® has over 20 years of assisting their clients in obtaining the settlement they deserve when they purchase a product that falls under the Lemon Law. They are dedicated to preventing their clients from being stuck with a faulty car or product.