Many people in California purchase a new car because they believe they’ll have fewer problems than with a pre-owned one. However, if you notice that your vehicle spends more time in service or for repairs than it does on the road, the Lemon Law is in place to protect you. Usually, these laws are designed to cover new vehicles with severe malfunctions or defects for specific mileage or time. If it isn’t fixed after numerous attempts, you may qualify to get a replacement car or a refund.
What these Laws Include
Each state is different, so it is essential that you learn about the laws in California. The Lemon Law takes effect if:
- Two or more attempts to fix a problem that could result in severe injury or death have been made.
- The manufacturer attempts to fix the same problem four or more times.
- The car is out of service for 30 or more days to repair a problem.
- You have not abused the vehicle.
Through the Song-Beverly Consumer Warranty Act, you must report any issues and try to get qualified repairs within 18 months (or 18,000 miles).
If your car is a lemon under these rules, the manufacturer must either replace the vehicle or refund the purchase price of the car.
If the manufacturer refuses to do either, you can go to arbitration or hire an attorney for help.
Why Hire an Attorney
These cases can be difficult, especially if you don’t know what information is necessary. They ask you for all the pertinent information and give you enough time to find it, such as detailed receipts, letters from the manufacturer, and more.